FacebookTwitter

Short-Term Vacation Rentals

Short-Term Vacation Rentals

Do I need a Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate?

Short-term vacation rentals are privately owned dwelling units that are rented* to guests more than three times in a calendar year for periods of  less than 30 days or one calendar month, whichever is less, or which is advertised or held out to the public as a place regularly rented to guests as defined by Florida Statutes

Short-term vacation rentals are permitted in zoning districts where residential uses are permitted. Single-family, two-family (duplexes) and townhouse units being used as transient public lodging establishments are required to obtain a Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate

Click here to check your property's zoning district.

IN ACCORDANCE WITH ORDINANCE NO. 2019-8118, ALL EXISTING SHORT TERM VACATION RENTALS THAT REQUIRE A CERTIFICATE ARE REQUIRED TO MAKE APPLICATION TO THE CITY BY JANUARY 30, 2020.

*An owner-occupied dwelling unit renting 50% or less of the unit is not subject to the short-term vacation rental regulations.  Single-family, two-family, or townhouse dwellings subject to deed restrictions and covenants of a home-owners association, condominium units, multiple-family apartments, and timeshare projects also are not subject to the short-term vacation rental regulations.  Although not subject to local rental regulations, registration with county and state taxing authorities may still be required.

How do I obtain a Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate?

If you are a property owner or the licensed agent for a property management company, you must apply for a short-term vacation rental certificate for every property being used as a short-term vacation rental. In order for your application* to be processed, you must provide the following documentation with your completed application**:

  • Short-Term Vacation Rental Certificate Affidavit
  • Completed Local Business Tax Form for short-term vacation rentals
  • Duval County Local Business Tax Receipt
  • Duval County Tourist Tax Certificate Registration Form
  • Florida Department of Revenue Certificate Application 
  • Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) License
  • Copy of a blank sample lease agreement and lessee information
  • Boundary survey and photograph showing the required off-street parking
  • Photo I.D. for the property owner or licensed agent
  • Articles of Incorporation (AOI) or Articles of Organization (AOO) if applicable
  • Completed property inspection from the Fire Marshal prior to issuance of a Certificate (required for initial applications and modifications) 
  • Applicable application fee*** in the form of check only, made payable to the "City of Jacksonville Beach"

Short-Term Vacation Rental Unit Property Compliance Inspection

An inspection of a short-term vacation rental unit is required prior to the initial issuance of and/or modifications to a Short-Term Vacation Rental Registration Certficate. 

In accordance with Ordinance No. 2019-8118, inspection of the rental unit will be conducted by the Fire Marshal by appointment only.  If violations are found, all violations must be corrected and the unit must be re-inspected prior to issuance of the registration certificate.

The inspection shall be requested by the Responsible Party.  Failure to provide the Fire Marshal access at the scheduled time will result in a "no show" fee of $100.

**INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

***The fee for initial and annual registration for each property is $150.00. The annual fee for a Local Business Tax Receipt is $79.20 for each property. The fees for County and State licenses and certificates can be found on their websites.

All Short-Term Vacation Rental Registration Certificate holders must apply annually for a renewal of their Certificate by October 1st of each calendar year.  

Short-Term Vacation Rental Nuisance Complaints

City of Jacksonville Beach residents can now report nuisances related to short-term rental properties using a new around-the-clock complaint hotline.  Operated by Host Compliance, LLC., the hotline is intended to offer neighbors a simple, anonymous alternative to calling code enforcement officers to report non-emergency issues like noise or parking issues caused by short-term rental guests. Callers may choose to leave their contact information so operators can follow up with them to ensure their complaint is adequately resolved. The 24/7 hotline phone number is 904-204-2525 or you can report issues online.

For questions pertaining to short-term vacation rental certificates, please e-mail STVR@JAXBCHFL.NET. Please allow 3-5 business days for a response.

Search form